Vacation Roundup

Swift Sprints 4

Vacation Roundup

I’ve been on vacation this past week, so this week’s edition is going to be short and sweet; just a few links I came across this week that I found interesting.

Let’s get into it.

First up is this awesome new package called Billboard from Hidde van den Ploeg. This package offers a privacy first ad experience for users, where the ads they see are only ads for other indie apps.

Next up is an app called S3 Files from Anders Borum that lets you use S3 compatible storage in Files, Finder, share sheet, and shortcuts. I thought this was a very cool app idea and I’ll definitely be trying this out.

This next one I’m including for a very specific reason - I love getting to use an API without an API key. This new swift package YouTubeKit from Antoine Bollengier allows you to access YouTube APIs without an API key.

Many Apple APIs got updates for iOS 17 at WWDC. MapKit is one of the ones that got some pretty exciting updates for SwiftUI. Christian Levelle has created a project showcasing these new features in a cool demo app.

This next app is something I thought was just such an interesting idea. Brittany Rima has created an app called Magic Budget that helps users plan and budget for theme park vacations. The app helps plan budgets for categories like tickets, merchandise, and special events as well as overall trip budgets and even has a countdown section!

That’s all for this week! If you enjoyed this week’s edition, I would love if you would share it with a friend or coworker! I’ve got some exciting things planned for the next few weeks so I’d love as many people to see it as possible.
Happy coding!

Morgan Zellers

P.S. If you have any suggestions, topics you'd like me to cover, or an app to share, please reach out! I truly value feedback and want to make Swift Sprints an engaging and valuable resource for the Apple developer community.